Sports News

Hugo Lloris’ LAFC salary compared to fellow MLS goalkeepers

LAFC’s newest shot-stopper Hugo Lloris’ salary has been revealed, with the former Tottenham Hotspur captain taking a significant pay cut to join the Western Conference club.

The former France international was reportedly earning roughly $6.5m in between the sticks for Spurs (or £5.2m) after his last contract extension in January 2022.

Now, the 37-year-old is set to earn $350k for the Black and Gold in 2024 with options for the 2025 and 2026 seasons, a significant decrease compared to his time at Tottenham. This means that Lloris won’t count as a Designated Player but will still occupy an international roster spot.

That’s still not a bad deal to take home while living in Los Angeles and competing for titles, which LAFC failed to do in 2023 despite playing in three finals. But just how good is this ‘cheap’ deal for a World Cup winning goalkeeper for LAFC?

For starters, there are 25 other shot-stoppers in MLS that are earning the same amount or more than Lloris, which is already a crazy figure in itself knowing the quality he still possesses.

For example, three goalkeepers earned the same salary in 2023 that Lloris will earn in 2024 – JT Marcinkowski (12 starts for San Jose Earthquakes last season), Zac MacMath (starter for Real Salt Lake) and Maxime Crepeau, who was LAFC’s starter in both MLS Cups in 2022 and 2023 and was key to the team’s progression through seasons.

But the insane value deal for the Black and Gold allows them to spend more on outfield players and even a backup goalkeeper given that is the only other shot-stopper on the books as of right now is Abraham Romero.

For additional context, here are the top 10 highest paid goalkeepers in MLS that convey the steal of a deal that LAFC got upon acquiring Lloris’ signature.



2023 Base Salary


Roman Bürki (St Louis CITY)



Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)



Pedro Gallese (Orlando City)



Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders)



Tim Melia (Sporting Kansas City)



Brad Guzan (Atlanta United)



Steve Clark (Houston Dynamo)



Kristijan Kahlina (Charlotte FC)



Carlos Coronel (New York Red Bulls)



Jonathon Bond (LA Galaxy)


Source link