Sports News

Jurgen Klopp surpasses Sir Alex Ferguson record in Liverpool win over Crystal Palace

Liverpool moved top of the Premier League table for the first time since September 2021 following the latest set of weekend results. The combination of Arsenal’s defeat to in-form Aston Villa and Harvey Elliott’s stoppage time winner against 10-man Crystal Palace made it happen.

The Reds had gone behind against Palace at Selhurst Park, with the hosts taking a lead from the penalty spot through Jean Philippe Mateta early in the second half.

Then came Mohamed Salah’s landmark 200th Liverpool goal to draw Klopp’s team level, before Elliott went on to win it after the initial 90 minutes had already elapsed. Salah later remarked that this season’s squad is giving him deja vu of the 2019/20 title-winning side.

Elliott’s goal not only proved decisive in securing the victory on the day, it was also significant in the wider picture for his manager. This was the 17th time that Klopp’s Liverpool have won a Premier League game in the 90th minute or later since the German was appointed in October 2015.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United has a reputation for always fighting for wins right until the final whistle – even leading to ‘Fergie time’ becoming a well-used phrase. But during his 21 Premier League seasons at Old Trafford (his tenure at the club began several years before the modern era), Ferguson surprisingly only saw his United teams win in the 90th minute or later on 16 occasions.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Sir Alex Ferguson won 16 Premier League games at the death / Clive Mason/GettyImages

Thanks to Elliott in south London, that is one fewer than Klopp’s team over eight years.

Klopp still has a little way to go to reach the top of the overall leaderboard for late wins though.

David Moyes, now of West Ham but formerly of Everton, Manchester United and Sunderland, is three further ahead with 20 wins decided in or after the 90th minute. One higher than him is Arsene Wenger on 21 such victories achieved during 22 years in charge of Arsenal.


90+ minute winners

Arsene Wenger


David Moyes


Jurgen Klopp


Sir Alex Ferguson


Jose Mourinho


Mauricio Pochettino


Rafael Benitez


Roberto Martinez


Roy Hodgson


Sam Allardyce



Source link